Make your own free website on
Eire Og Derriaghy GAC
Butler Cup

The 1980's proved to be very successful at Minor Football level. As well as the Minor Football Championship in 1981, Eire Og also won three Butler Cups. The first victory came in 1983 and the winning team can be seen below. Three years later in 1986 and another Minor team won the cup again, but went one better retaining it the next year in 1987. Then, in 1989, Eire Og reached the final of the Butler Cup but the match was not played and the Ogs were denied the opportunity of claiming their fourth Butler Cup in six years!

Butler Cup Winners 1983

Back - R. McCarthy, Duff Morgan, Henry Largey, Gerard Haughey, Jim Magee, Tony Ferrin, Ciaran Moore, P. Keenan, Kevin Wright, Jim Flynn, Johnny Smye (Manager)

Front - Jim McConville, Mark Crozier (R.I.P.), Kevin McLaughlin, Ciaran Ferrin, Barney McGeough, John McCullough, K. Collins, Dermott McPoland, Ronan Rice